7 Awesome Things About Tonight’s Episode of Parks and Rec

leslie_skates
Filibusterin’, Rollerskatin’, Bad-Ass Councilwoman Leslie Knope

There are many reasons to love tonight’s Parks & Rec episodes just like there are reasons to basically love EVERY Parks & Rec episode. If you’ve never watched the show before, I suggest hopping on your Netflix (or your girlfriend’s Netflix, or your dad’s Netflix, or your roommates Netflix—I know you know someone with a Netflix account, don’t deny it) and marathon watching the first 90 episodes, and then Googling “Watch Parks & Rec online free” to see the rest. However, if you’re like me and maybe life got in the way, it’s okay! See, one of the great things about this show is not only its essence of greatness, but also the fact that while there is a story line going on, you can pretty much jump into any episode and still find it pretty damn funny.

I must admit, I’m a little behind on the show (I basically got up to the point where *SPOILER ALERT* Leslie and Ben got engaged), but I found myself on the couch with a post-Jeopardy TV-watching high and couldn’t resist back to back Parks. And I’m glad I put it on, because it’s still awesome. So much so that I compiled a short list of all the different awesome things about these two episodes combined:

1. Early 90’s themed birthday party for Ben: As someone who’s always had a soft spot for themed birthday parties, and also a soft spot for the early 90’s (truly one of the best eras, amIright?), this was a double-whammy. Kudos to Leslie for planning this out for Ben. Marriage, Leslie, you’re doing it right.

2. Ben’s reaction to someone having Monster but NOT Automatic for the People: Seriously. Lots of REM love here, and Automatic may be one of their best if not their best (I grew up with Out of Time, though, so I may be a little biased). Anyway, if you’ve never heard Automatic for the People, listen to it below. Cause yeah, it’s awesome. Just like this list and this show.

3. Leslie’s rockin filibuster: Wherein City Councilwoman Leslie Knope invokes the powers of great ladies like Wendy Davis in an awesome filibuster and pours Margarita mix over one douche bag’s head by the end of it.

4. Tom dressed up like Kriss Kross at the party: Cause if he was going to be anyone from the early 90’s…

5. Leslie and Ben dressed up like Wesley and Princess Buttercup from the Princess Bride: At first I thought Ben was dressed up like Zorro, but John made the connection for me and I couldn’t help but let out a big ol, “Awwwwww!!!” Who doesn’t love The Princess Bride?  Just look at them!

D'Awwwwwwww!!!
D’Awwwwwwww!!!

6. Leslie’s incredible tattoo idea: At one point, Leslie and Ben end up almost getting prison-style tattoos inside a Pawn Shop. Leslie’s idea for a tatt? A small and tasteful portrait of Eleanore Roosevelt who has a small and tasteful tattoo of Joan Jett. Oh, Leslie. Can I be as cool as you ever?

7. Ron’s reaction to his chair becoming a “trend”: That lifestyle coach woman and her Bloosh website were the epitome of everything that is wrong in the world. Good on Ron for not selling out his work, even though it could’ve made him tons of money.

And I’m sure there were plenty of other awesome things in these two episodes, but I was too busy freaking out about all the things I’ve missed since I last left the show (Andy’s not in Pawnee anymore? Chris and Ann back together? And Ann is pregnant!? What the what? And why the hell is everyone calling Gerry/Jerry Larry now?) More incentive to get caught up, anyway.

What did you love about tonight’s episode?

Leave a Reply

