Wherein I Drew a Baby and Won Some Wine

cake

Another wonderful human being is on their way, and today, I went to her first party. The her I’m talking about is Layla Quinn, my niece-to-be, my cousin Lori’s daughter. I attended a baby shower held in her and her mother’s honor and I would be lying if I said I didn’t have an absolute blast.

Once upon a time, baby showers really weren’t my thing. All the awkward belly touching and weird chug from a baby bottle games were off putting at best. But I suppose it all depends on whose shower it is, and I am ridiculously psyched for my cousin to finally join the rest of us in this special hell we call parenthood.

Ha…just kidding…

No, it’s not really hell, but those with toddlers know it’s also not a walk in the park. But I digress.

I am very, very happy for my cousin, who is very pregnant with this little bundle of joy that I know is going to bring her even more happiness than she can possibly ever imagine.

me and cuz
The shower queen and myself. Oh, and baby Layla is in there, too.

Besides, the festivities were superb. Between the sweet-but-not-too-sweet sangria, the epic Italian lunch buffet (baked ziti, grilled zucchini, and the best damn caesar salad of my life), the even more epic desserts (cheese cake, brownies, carrot cupcakes, and a frangelico-based mousse that was to die for), and games that were right up my alley (including a word scramble, a baby quiz, and a baby drawing contest that won me a bottle of pink moscato!), it was probably my favorite shower to date (save for my own).

Party favors.
Party favors.
The winning baby drawing (drawn on a paper plate I had to wear on my head so as not to see what I was actually drawing).
The winning baby drawing (drawn on a paper plate I had to wear on my head so as not to see what I was actually drawing).
I won! I won!
I won! I won!
Leave a Reply

