Freelance Writing Summed Up In A Song

Lyrics to Tom Petty and the Heartbreaker’s The Waiting, with additional commentary in red to reflect the life of a freelance writer:

Oh baby don’t it feel like heaven right now [when you’re contacted for a steady gig]
Don’t it feel like somethin’ from a dream [because you can finally sleep, sort of!]
Yeah I’ve never known nothing quite like this [what is a salary, anyway?]
Don’t it feel like tonight might never be again [panic sets in…where’s the contract?]
We know better than to try and pretend [shit, I didn’t get scope and pay finalized!]
Baby no one could have ever told me ’bout this [where is that contract…]

The waiting is the hardest part [SIGH]
Every day you see one more card [checking inbox 5039842798469x a day]
You take it on faith, you take it to the heart [they’ll send it soon, right?]
The waiting is the hardest part [maybe I should bake some cookies for now…]

Well yeah I might have chased a couple of women around [hey, I’m a freelancer! a gig’s a gig]
All it ever got me was down [fuck you, Craigslist]
Then there were those that made me feel good [that one well-paying, reliable client]
But never as good as I feel right now [but this would pay SO MUCH BETTER]
Baby you’re the only one that’s ever known how [should I follow up yet?]
To make me want to live like I want to live now [if I land this, I can stop eating peanut butter sandwiches!]

The waiting is the hardest part [maybe my phone isn’t getting e-mail notifications?]
Every day you see one more card [let’s check that Spam box again…]
You take it on faith, you take it to the heart [they promised I’d hear from them soon]
The waiting is the hardest part [guess i’ll work on that book for now…]

Don’t let it kill you baby, don’t let it get to you [FREELANCING AIN’T FOR THE FAINT OF HEART]
Don’t let ’em kill you baby, don’t let ’em get to you [you will probably starve before hearing back–but sometimes it’s worth it?]
I’ll be your breathin’ heart, I’ll be your cryin’ fool [*sob* just hire me, damn it]
Don’t let this go too far, don’t let it get to you [write a blog post about it instead!]

via Flickr: 10CH
via Flickr: 10CH

Time to check that inbox again…

Leave a Reply

